William Hill withdrawal times and payment methods
- Gambling Commission
- Account 39225 · ActiveRegister status when checked, 19 October 2026
- Jurisdiction
- Great Britain licenceNorthern Ireland is outside Gambling Commission licensing
- Products
- sportsbook, casino, bingo
For William Hill customers in Great Britain, William Hill gives withdrawal timescales of 1 to 3 working days in most cases for debit cards, 1 working day for PayPal and 3–5 working days for a standard bank transfer; each is a single figure that does not say which stage it covers.56 For Visa cards whose bank supports Visa Direct, it says withdrawals of £10,000 or less usually reach your bank within 4 hours of the request, including at weekends and on public holidays, and that checking and approval normally take a couple of hours.7 Withdrawals can be held until verification checks are complete,2 so none of these figures is a guaranteed receipt time.
Operator-stated, checked 19 October 2026. Sources are numbered below.
William Hill withdrawal times by method
William Hill publishes different times for different payment methods, and sometimes for different stages. We show each stage in its own column: operator processing is William Hill's own review and release; payment transfer is the bank or provider's delivery time; a single stated time is used where William Hill gives one figure, labelled "request to receipt" or "stage not stated" exactly as the source allows.
- RequestYou ask William Hill to withdraw. UK customers generally cannot cancel it once made.
- William Hill processingNot stated separatelyReview, checks and release by the bookmaker.
- Payment transferNot stated separatelyBank, card scheme or wallet delivers the money.
- Money arrivesYour bank or wallet may show it as pending before it clears.
| Method | Deposits | Withdrawals | Operator processing | Payment transfer | Single stated time | Min. / max. withdrawal | Fee | Conditions | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Debit Card578 | Yes | Yes | Not published | Not published | 1–3 working daysStage not stated | £5max £33,000 | William Hill doesn't charge any fees for Debit Card transactions. Please check with your bank/card issuer if they charge any fees. | 6 conditions | Operator-stated |
| PayPal (for UK and Gibraltar)5PayPal | Yes | Yes | Not published | Not published | Up to 1 working dayStage not stated | £10max £5,500 | William Hill does not charge any fees for PayPal transactions. | 2 conditions | Operator-stated |
| Apple Pay (for UK and Austria)5Apple Pay | Yes | Yes | Not published | Not published | InstantStage not stated | £5max £33,000 | Not published | 2 conditions | Operator-stated |
| PaySafeCard5 | Yes | No | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not publishedmax not published | William Hill doesn't charge any fees for PaySafeCard transactions, however PaySafeCard may charge a fee. | 3 conditions | Operator-stated |
| Skrill5 | Yes | Yes | Not published | Not published | Up to 1 working dayStage not stated | £5max £80,000 | William Hill doesn't charge any fees for Skrill transactions. | 2 conditions | Operator-stated |
| Neteller5 | Yes | Yes | Not published | Not published | Up to 1 working dayStage not stated | £5max £30,000 | William Hill does not charge any fees for Neteller transactions. | 2 conditions | Operator-stated |
| Bank Transfer6 | No | Yes | Not published | Not published | 3–5 working daysStage not stated | £25max £100,000 | William Hill doesn't charge any fees for Bank Transfer transactions. However, your bank may charge you for handling the bank transfer. | 6 conditions | Operator-stated |
| Pay By Bank59Pay by Bank (open banking) | Yes | Yes | Not published | Not published | Instant to 1 working dayStage not stated | £5max £33,000 | Not published | 2 conditions | Operator-stated |
| William Hill PLUS (WH shops, Gibraltar and Jersey)510Cash in shop | Yes | Yes | Not published | Not published | InstantStage not stated | £5max £750 | Not published | 4 conditions | Operator-stated |
Conditions and notes. Our summary of what each operator says alongside the figures above; follow the numbered sources for the exact wording.
Debit Card
- Visa Direct: for a compatible Visa card whose bank supports Visa Direct, the table gives 'Visa Direct cards - 4 hours'; the Visa Direct article says a withdrawal 'will usually take up to four (4) hours to reach your bank account' once requested, including weekends and public holidays (end to end, operator wording).
- Visa Direct article: 'It normally takes a couple of hours to check and approve withdrawals before we process them.' Some withdrawals need further internal checks that can extend past four hours.
- Compatible Visa withdrawals of £10,000 or less go via Visa Direct; withdrawals over £10,000 go 'through the old route' and arrive 'in up to three (3) days'.
- Maximum withdrawal differs by card type: £33,000 Mastercard and Visa Debit, £40,000 Maestro, £35,000 Visa Electron.
- Withdrawals must go back to the card used to deposit.
- If funds have not arrived after five working days (one full day for Visa Direct), customers can request an ARN to trace the payment with their bank.
PayPal (for UK and Gibraltar)
- UK customers cannot deposit by PayPal using funds from a credit card.
- Having PayPal linked to the account prevents in-shop cash deposits and withdrawals through PLUS.
Apple Pay (for UK and Austria)
- Deposits via a credit card or money service through Apple Pay are not allowed in the UK.
- The page gives a limits table only; it does not explain where Apple Pay withdrawals are paid or state fees for Apple Pay.
PaySafeCard
- The United Kingdom is listed among countries whose customers can only deposit through a free personal PaySafeCard account.
- Withdrawals are not paid to PaySafeCard; they are issued by Bank Transfer: table shows £25 minimum, £99,000 maximum and '3-5 working days via Bank Transfer'.
- If funds have not arrived in that time, customers are asked to allow 10 working days before contacting Customer Service.
Skrill
- Listed on the methods page that covers all customers outside the Republic of Ireland, with no country restriction; the page does not separately confirm UK availability.
- Skrill's own fees may apply (the page links to Skrill's fee list).
Neteller
- Withdrawals are paid to the Neteller account used to deposit.
- Listed on the methods page that covers all customers outside the Republic of Ireland, with no country restriction; the page does not separately confirm UK availability.
Bank Transfer
- Bank Transfer deposits were discontinued on 30 March 2022.
- Timescales by transfer type: Standard Bank Transfer 3-5 working days; Urgent/Swift Bank Transfer 1 to 3 working days; CHAPS (UK only) 1 working day.
- Customers are asked to allow up to 10 working days before contacting Customer Service if funds have not arrived.
- The same article also says that, once the request can no longer be reversed, funds 'will be processed back to you within 1 to 10 working days'.
- Proof of bank account (statement issued in the last three months for UK transfers) and valid ID are required for all Bank Transfer withdrawal requests.
- Maximum conflicts with the PaySafeCard table, which gives £99,000 (by Bank Transfer).
Pay By Bank
- Available only for the UK and Ireland; William Hill says it works with TrueLayer for Pay By Bank.
- The help pages describe how to deposit with Pay By Bank but not how withdrawals are sent; no fee statement for this method.
William Hill PLUS (WH shops, Gibraltar and Jersey)
- Requires a PLUS card (contactless or Digital PLUS) linked to the online account; the withdrawal is requested in the Plus Web App or Sportsbook app and collected in a William Hill shop with photo ID (UK driving licence or UK passport) whose name matches the account.
- Only available if the account is funded by a maximum of two debit cards, Cash Direct or cash deposited in shop; any other linked method (PayPal, credit card, three or more debit cards) blocks in-shop cash deposits and withdrawals.
- Only whole pounds can be withdrawn; withdrawals are generally only possible if the customer has previously deposited via Plus.
- The requested amount leaves the online balance at request time and waits for collection in shop.
William Hill deposit methods and where withdrawals are paid
Operator-stated, our summary With one registered payment method, withdrawals go back to that method; if it cannot receive withdrawals, the money is sent by Bank Transfer. With several methods, the system sends money first to the method with the highest net deposit (deposited minus withdrawn), so a customer may have to withdraw to a card before an e-wallet. Card withdrawals must go to the card used to deposit. If no payment method is set up or it has expired, a method must be registered and deposited with before withdrawing.71112
| Method | Deposits | Min. deposit | Max. deposit | Withdrawals to this method |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Debit Card | Yes | £5 | £99,000 | Yes |
| PayPal (for UK and Gibraltar) | Yes | £10 | £5,500 | Yes |
| Apple Pay (for UK and Austria) | Yes | £5 | £99,000 | Yes |
| PaySafeCard | Yes | £10 | £200 | No |
| Skrill | Yes | £10 | £80,000 | Yes |
| Neteller | Yes | £10 | £25,000 | Yes |
| Bank Transfer | No | Not published | Not published | Yes |
| Pay By Bank | Yes | £5 | £99,000 | Yes |
| William Hill PLUS (WH shops, Gibraltar and Jersey) | Yes | £1 | £1,000 | Yes |
Compare these methods across bookmakers: Apple Pay betting sites: deposits and withdrawals compared, Bank transfer betting sites: ordinary transfers and Pay by Bank compared, PayPal betting sites: withdrawal conditions compared, Paysafecard betting sites: deposits and withdrawals compared, Skrill betting sites: deposits and withdrawals compared.
William Hill withdrawal limits and fees
Operator-stated, our summary William Hill states it does not charge fees for any deposit method, and each method section says William Hill does not charge for that method, while banks or payment providers may charge their own fees. Accounts unused for 13 consecutive months with a positive balance are charged an inactivity fee of £3 a month (Sterling), deducted on the 28th of each month, after William Hill tries to notify the customer and to return the balance to the last payment method.213
Published minimum withdrawals range from £5 (Debit Card) to £25 (Bank Transfer). Maximums, where published, are in the table above.
For how limits and fees work generally, see withdrawal limits and fees explained.
Verification before a William Hill withdrawal
Operator-stated, our summary Customers in the UK, Jersey and Gibraltar must have their account verified before their first deposit and bet. William Hill may ask for documents at withdrawal, most commonly when the withdrawal goes to a different method from the deposit, when a card belonging to someone else has been used, or after a period of inactivity. Every Bank Transfer withdrawal needs proof of the bank account and valid ID. Under the UK terms, withdrawals can be restricted until verification checks are complete, and delays in providing requested information can delay withdrawals. Failing to provide requested source-of-funds documents leads to a temporary suspension that restricts withdrawals.26141516
Gambling Commission rules limit when a business can ask for information only at the point of withdrawal. Read verification and your withdrawal rights.
Pending, cancelled or declined William Hill withdrawals
Operator-stated, our summary William Hill says customers in England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland have not been able to reverse withdrawals since 30 June 2020; reversal while a withdrawal is 'pending' is described for non-UK customers. Some method sections (Skrill, Neteller, Bank Transfer) still say a withdrawal can be reversed while it is being approved, without a UK exception. A Visa Direct withdrawal showing 'Pending' beyond four hours may be held for further internal checks, including ID requests.5717
If a withdrawal is taking longer than the stated time, work through what to check when a withdrawal is pending.
William Hill withdrawals at weekends and on bank holidays
Operator-stated, our summary Visa Direct card payouts are processed 24 hours a day, seven days a week, and William Hill says funds should arrive within four hours even at weekends and on public holidays if the bank supports the service. Other timescales are given in working days (cards 1 to 3, e-wallets and PayPal 1, Bank Transfer 3-5). An ARN to trace a missing card payment can be requested after one full day (weekends included) for Visa Direct, or five working days for other cards.78
Count working days for England and Wales, Scotland or Northern Ireland with the working-day calculator.
Lost, replaced or expired cards
Operator-stated, our summary If the registered payment method has expired, the customer must update it or add another method before withdrawing; expired debit card details can be edited in the deposit area. Moving a withdrawal to a newly added method requires contacting Customer Service. A balance below the minimum withdrawal can still be withdrawn in full.1819
Closed or self-excluded accounts
Operator-stated, our summary Customers are told to withdraw any remaining money before closing an account and to contact Customer Service for winnings from bets still open after closure. On self-exclusion, the balance is refunded automatically once checks and outstanding requests are complete, and open bets are settled with any winnings paid out. If William Hill closes an account, the balance is paid back unless illegal activity, a prohibited practice or a regulatory requirement applies, using the deposit method where possible. The account-closure article also says a time out or self-exclusion stops future deposits and withdrawals.22021
See getting your money back after account closure or self-exclusion.
What we found in William Hill's own pages
- Can a UK withdrawal be reversed? The reverse-withdrawal article says customers in England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland have not been able to reverse withdrawals since 30 June 2020, and the Visa Direct article says the same.717 On the deposit and withdrawal options page, the debit card and PayPal sections limit reversal to customers outside the UK, but the Skrill and Neteller sections say a withdrawal can be reversed while it is being approved, with no UK exception,5 and the Bank Transfer article says the same for bank transfers.6 We show both.
- Bank transfer figures vary. The Bank Transfer article gives 3–5 working days for a standard transfer, 1 to 3 working days for Urgent/Swift and 1 working day for CHAPS (UK only), but also says funds are processed back within 1 to 10 working days once the request can no longer be reversed, and asks you to allow up to 10 working days before contacting Customer Service.6 Its £100,000 maximum differs from the £99,000 given for bank transfer payouts in the PaySafeCard table.56 Every bank transfer withdrawal needs proof of the bank account and valid ID.6
- Larger Visa withdrawals. Compatible Visa withdrawals over £10,000 are sent by the older route and arrive “in up to three (3) days”,7 where the methods table gives 1 to 3 working days in most cases for cards outside Visa Direct.5 You can ask for an ARN to trace a card payment after one full day (weekends included) for Visa Direct, or after five working days for other cards.8
- Where the money goes. With one payment method, the withdrawal goes back to it, and if that method cannot receive withdrawals it is issued by Bank Transfer; with several, the system pays first to the method with the highest net deposit.11 PaySafeCard withdrawals are paid by Bank Transfer, with a £25 minimum and 3–5 working days.5
- Methods with little withdrawal detail. The methods page gives Apple Pay an “Immediate” withdrawal timescale and Pay By Bank “Immediate to 1 working day”, but does not explain where those withdrawals are paid, and the Pay By Bank help article covers deposits only.59 Skrill and Neteller appear on a page covering every customer outside the Republic of Ireland, with no separate UK confirmation, and Google Pay is not listed.5
- Cash in a William Hill shop. With a PLUS card you can withdraw up to £750 a day (£2,500 a week) in cash in a William Hill shop, but only if your account is funded by no more than two debit cards, Cash Direct or cash deposited in a shop.5 The money leaves your online balance when you make the request, only whole pounds can be withdrawn, and you need your PLUS card and a UK driving licence or passport to collect it.10
- Self-exclusion wording. The account-closure article says a time out or self-exclusion stops any future deposits or withdrawals,20 while the self-exclusion article says your balance is refunded automatically once checks and outstanding requests are complete.21
Contacting William Hill and making a complaint
William Hill names IBAS as its alternative dispute resolution (ADR) provider22223. You can usually go to ADR only after William Hill's own complaints process has finished or 8 weeks have passed.
Our guide to complaining about a delayed payout explains each step. BookiePayout cannot see your account or resolve disputes.
- Fast withdrawal betting sites: stated payout times comparedWhich UK bookmakers state the quickest withdrawals, by method and stage: Pay by Bank, fast card payouts and standard routes for 24 bookmakers, with dated sources.
- Apple Pay betting sites: deposits and withdrawals comparedWhich UK bookmakers accept Apple Pay, which let you withdraw with it, which card the money goes back to, and the card rules and stated times to check.
- Bank transfer betting sites: ordinary transfers and Pay by Bank comparedWhich UK bookmakers take bank transfers and Pay by Bank, their stated withdrawal times and name checks, and why bank withdrawals can take working days.
- PayPal betting sites: withdrawal conditions comparedWhich UK bookmakers accept PayPal for deposits and withdrawals, their stated PayPal withdrawal times, minimums and conditions, and PayPal's own gambling rules.
- Paysafecard betting sites: deposits and withdrawals comparedWhich UK bookmakers take paysafecard, whether winnings go back to a PaysafeCard account or by bank transfer, and the payout limits and fees to check first.
- Skrill betting sites: deposits and withdrawals comparedWhich UK bookmakers take Skrill, which exclude it or have not confirmed it, their stated withdrawal times, and the wallet fees a free withdrawal leaves out.
Sources
Each number links to the page we checked. We keep a dated copy of every source for our records; the operator's live page may have changed since.
- William Hill Support (help centre home, footer)
- Terms & Conditions: UK, Jersey and Gibraltar Customers (version 2026/1.4, updated 30 September 2026)
- WHG (International) Limited - Licence summary
- WHG (International) Limited - Trading names
- Available Deposit and Withdrawal Options (Excluding customers registered in the Republic of Ireland)
- How can I withdraw by Bank Transfer?
- Visa Direct (faster withdrawals)
- How can I track a card withdrawal with my bank (ARN)?
- Pay By Bank - Deposit FAQs
- Digital PLUS FAQs
- How are my withdrawals processed?
- Why can't I always choose how I withdraw my funds?
- Do you charge a fee for my account?
- Account Verification Guide
- I want to withdraw my winnings. Why have I been asked for documents?
- Source of Funds
- How can I reverse a withdrawal?
- Expired Payment Methods
- How to Add and Remove a Payment Method
- How to Close your Account
- Self-Exclusion and How to Set One
- Contact Us
- How to Raise a Complaint