Betfair withdrawal times and payment methods
- Gambling Commission
- Account 39561 · ActiveRegister status when checked, 19 October 2026
- Jurisdiction
- Great Britain licenceNorthern Ireland is outside Gambling Commission licensing
- Products
- exchange, sportsbook, casino, games, poker
For Betfair customers in Great Britain, Betfair states that standard card withdrawals should be in your bank 2–5 working days from the date you requested them, and that withdrawals to Visa cards and participating Mastercards, which it calls “instant withdrawals”, should be in your bank within 1–4 hours.1 It names Pay by Bank as the quickest route, appearing in your bank immediately,1 but asks you to allow at least 90 minutes for a first Pay by Bank withdrawal,11 and you must have deposited by Pay by Bank to use it.12 These are request-to-receipt times as Betfair words them, not guaranteed receipt times, and Betfair allows no withdrawals until your account is fully verified.2
Operator-stated, checked 19 October 2026. Sources are numbered below.
Betfair withdrawal times by method
Betfair publishes different times for different payment methods, and sometimes for different stages. We show each stage in its own column: operator processing is Betfair's own review and release; payment transfer is the bank or provider's delivery time; a single stated time is used where Betfair gives one figure, labelled "request to receipt" or "stage not stated" exactly as the source allows.
- RequestYou ask Betfair to withdraw. UK customers generally cannot cancel it once made.
- Betfair processingNot stated separatelyReview, checks and release by the bookmaker.
- Payment transferNot stated separatelyBank, card scheme or wallet delivers the money.
- Money arrivesYour bank or wallet may show it as pending before it clears.
| Method | Deposits | Withdrawals | Operator processing | Payment transfer | Single stated time | Min. / max. withdrawal | Fee | Conditions | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Debit Cards (Visa / Mastercard debit)11314151617Debit card | Yes | Yes | Not published | Not published | 2–5 working daysRequest to receipt | Not publishedmax not published | Not published | 4 conditions | Operator-stated |
| PayPal1131819 | Yes | Yes | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not publishedmax not published | Not published | 4 conditions | Operator-stated |
| Apple Pay113 | Yes | Yes | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not publishedmax not published | Not published | 1 condition | Operator-stated |
| Paysafecard2021 | No | No | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not publishedmax not published | Not published | 1 condition | Operator-stated |
| Skrill1318 | Yes | Yes | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not publishedmax not published | Not published | 1 condition | Operator-stated |
| Neteller1318 | Yes | Yes | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not publishedmax not published | Not published | 1 condition | Operator-stated |
| Trustly15 | Not published | Yes | Not published | Not published | Up to 4 hoursRequest to receipt | Not publishedmax not published | Not published | 1 condition | Operator-stated |
| Bank Transfer (standard)2122Bank transfer | Yes | Yes | Not published | Not published | 1–5 daysRequest to receipt | £10max not published | Fees do not generally apply to either type of transfer. However, with standard transfers you have a daily limit as to the amount you can send. If you go above the daily limit, the transfer could be rejected, and a fee applied. | 3 conditions | Operator-stated |
| Pay by Bank (Open Banking via TrueLayer; also called IBT)1111222Pay by Bank (open banking) | Yes | Yes | Not published | Not published | InstantRequest to receipt | £5max not published | Fees do not apply to Pay by Bank. | 4 conditions | Operator-stated |
| Much Better13MuchBetter | Yes | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not publishedmax not published | Not published | 1 condition | Operator-stated |
| Rapid Transfer13 | Yes | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not publishedmax not published | Not published | 1 condition | Operator-stated |
Conditions and notes. Our summary of what each operator says alongside the figures above; follow the numbered sources for the exact wording.
Debit Cards (Visa / Mastercard debit)
- Instant withdrawals: all Visa cards and participating Mastercards are eligible; Betfair says these should be in the bank account within 1-4 hours, and to get in touch if not received within 24 hours.
- Fast Funds (Visa Direct): UK, Ireland and Spain customers with a Visa Debit or Prepaid card; funds usually arrive in seconds but can take up to 2 hours; the withdrawal must go to that Visa card; limits apply.
- Mastercards issued outside the listed countries, and Mastercard BusinessCards, cannot receive withdrawals.
- Up to three debit cards can be registered; cards must be in the account holder's name.
PayPal
- Listed under 'Other Methods'; only methods available in the customer's country are shown.
- Betfair cannot display net-deposit figures for e-wallets online; customers must ask customer service.
- Removing/deactivating a PayPal account requires proof of closure to preserve the closed-loop policy.
- Withdrawal time and minimum appear only in an image table (see researcher_notes).
Apple Pay
- Withdrawals via Apple Pay are only possible to a card that has previously been used to deposit via Apple Pay on the Betfair account.
Paysafecard
- Discontinued as a payment method from 29/06/2026 and cannot be re-added. Balances deposited via Paysafecard are withdrawn by bank transfer.
Skrill
- Withdrawal time and minimum appear only in an image table (see researcher_notes).
Neteller
- Withdrawal time and minimum appear only in an image table (see researcher_notes).
Trustly
- Trustly is not in Betfair's published list of deposit methods; it appears only in the withdrawal-tracing article and in the image table (which shows 4-24 hours).
Bank Transfer (standard)
- Customers whose deposit method does not accept withdrawals (e.g. Paysafecard) can withdraw by bank transfer from the 'Other Methods' tab.
- Bank transfer withdrawals that have not yet been processed may be cancellable by contacting Betfair.
- The image-only withdrawal table on the same help page shows different figures (see researcher_notes).
Pay by Bank (Open Banking via TrueLayer; also called IBT)
- First-time Pay by Bank withdrawals: Betfair asks customers to allow at least 90 minutes; after the first time, withdrawals should be instant. If funds have not arrived after 90 minutes, wait 24 hours before contacting Betfair.
- Pay by Bank withdrawal is only available if the customer has previously deposited with Pay by Bank.
- UK customers must use GBP as account currency and an eligible UK GBP bank account; limits depend on the bank.
- Up to three bank associations per account.
Much Better
- Listed as a deposit method; withdrawal support is shown only in the image table on the withdrawals page (see researcher_notes).
Rapid Transfer
- Listed as a deposit method; withdrawal support is shown only in the image table on the withdrawals page (see researcher_notes).
Betfair deposit methods and where withdrawals are paid
Operator-stated, our summary Betfair applies a closed-loop ('Net Deposits') rule: customers must withdraw to each payment method at least the total deposited with it before withdrawing to another method. Withdrawals generally go back to the account the funds came from. Betfair cannot show e-wallet net deposits online, and payment methods must be in the account holder's name.21823
| Method | Deposits | Min. deposit | Max. deposit | Withdrawals to this method |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Debit Cards (Visa / Mastercard debit) | Yes | Not published | Not published | Yes |
| PayPal | Yes | Not published | Not published | Yes |
| Apple Pay | Yes | Not published | Not published | Yes |
| Paysafecard | No | Not published | Not published | No |
| Skrill | Yes | Not published | Not published | Yes |
| Neteller | Yes | Not published | Not published | Yes |
| Trustly | Not published | Not published | Not published | Yes |
| Bank Transfer (standard) | Yes | £20 | Not published | Yes |
| Pay by Bank (Open Banking via TrueLayer; also called IBT) | Yes | £5 | Not published | Yes |
| Much Better | Yes | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Rapid Transfer | Yes | Not published | Not published | Not published |
Compare these methods across bookmakers: Apple Pay betting sites: deposits and withdrawals compared, Bank transfer betting sites: ordinary transfers and Pay by Bank compared, PayPal betting sites: withdrawal conditions compared, Paysafecard betting sites: deposits and withdrawals compared, Skrill betting sites: deposits and withdrawals compared.
Betfair withdrawal limits and fees
Operator-stated, our summary Betfair's deposit help says it will not charge fees. Pay by Bank has no fees. Fees do not generally apply to bank transfers, but going over a standard transfer's daily limit can lead to rejection and a fee. Betfair does not charge dormant account fees. No explicit statement was found on fees for card or e-wallet withdrawals.2111322
Published minimum withdrawals range from £5 (Pay by Bank (Open Banking via TrueLayer; also called IBT)) to £10 (Bank Transfer (standard)). Maximums, where published, are in the table above.
For how limits and fees work generally, see withdrawal limits and fees explained.
Verification before a Betfair withdrawal
Operator-stated, our summary New UK customers may deposit up to £1,500 in the first 30 days, but no withdrawals are allowed until the account is fully verified. Withdrawals can be delayed until verification checks are complete. Betfair aims to review submitted documents within 4 hours, though it can take up to 24 hours, and documents sent outside opening hours (7am to 2am) are reviewed when the team reopens.1224
Gambling Commission rules limit when a business can ask for information only at the point of withdrawal. Read verification and your withdrawal rights.
Pending, cancelled or declined Betfair withdrawals
Operator-stated, our summary Betfair says card and Apple Pay withdrawals can be cancelled before Betfair processes them (up to 24 hours), unprocessed bank transfers may be cancellable on request, and other methods cannot be cancelled. The same article also says the 'Reverse' feature is not currently available to UK and Irish customers, so whether UK customers can reverse a pending withdrawal is unclear.21
If a withdrawal is taking longer than the stated time, work through what to check when a withdrawal is pending.
Betfair withdrawals at weekends and on bank holidays
Operator-stated, our summary Card timescales are in working days, and Betfair says bank holidays are not working days. Multiple withdrawals may arrive out of order, and Betfair asks customers to allow 5 working days before getting in touch. A tracing (ARN) number is only available after 5 working days.1
Count working days for England and Wales, Scotland or Northern Ireland with the working-day calculator.
Lost, replaced or expired cards
Operator-stated, our summary If a withdrawal goes to a lost or expired card, it is still processed (possibly more slowly) if the linked bank account is still accessible; otherwise it should decline and return to the Betfair balance. A direct replacement card from the same bank can be edited in Manage Payment Methods; otherwise proof of card ownership is needed to remove a card with outstanding net deposits.118
Closed or self-excluded accounts
Operator-stated, our summary Betfair recommends withdrawing funds before closing an account. If Betfair closes an account, the balance is paid back except where illegal or prohibited activity is found. Funds cannot be withdrawn while an account is suspended under investigation. After a self-exclusion, Betfair takes reasonable steps to return the balance and may ask the customer to contact customer service if no active card is available. UK accounts become dormant after 24 months of inactivity; funds are still refundable.225
See getting your money back after account closure or self-exclusion.
What we found in Betfair's own pages
- Card timing is worded four ways. The main withdrawals page says standard card withdrawals take 2–5 working days and eligible instant card withdrawals 1–4 hours.1 The “Fast Funds” article says most of these arrive in seconds but can take up to 2 hours,14 and the tracing article says they typically arrive instantly, occasionally taking up to 2 hours.15 Our table uses the standard 2–5 working days, because Betfair says only participating Mastercards are eligible for instant withdrawals.1
- When to chase also differs. The same withdrawals page asks you to get in touch if an instant card withdrawal has not arrived within 24 hours, and also to allow 5 working days for all withdrawals before getting in touch. It adds that bank holidays are not working days and that a tracing (ARN) number is not available until 5 working days have passed.1
- Bank transfer figures differ between the text and an image. The Bank Transfer article says standard transfers take 1–5 days and have a £10 minimum withdrawal.22 The withdrawals page also has an “Other Withdrawal Methods” table that is published only as a picture; when we checked it on 19 October 2026 it showed 1–3 working days and £5 for bank transfer.26 Our table uses the article’s text figures and we show the image’s figures here; ask Betfair which applies.
- Trustly is listed at up to 4 hours, but not as a deposit method. The tracing article says to allow up to 4 hours for a Trustly withdrawal to reach your bank,15 while the image table showed 4–24 hours.26 Trustly does not appear in Betfair’s list of deposit methods.13
- Whether you can cancel a pending withdrawal is unclear. One article says card and Apple Pay withdrawals can be cancelled before Betfair processes them (up to 24 hours), and also says twice that the feature is “not currently available” for UK and Irish customers.21 We show both.
- E-wallet details are not published as text. Withdrawal times and minimums for PayPal, Skrill, Neteller, MuchBetter and Rapid Transfer appear only in the image table on the withdrawals page, which showed 4–24 hours and a £5 minimum for each when we checked,26 and Betfair says it cannot show e-wallet net deposits online, so you need to ask customer service.18
- Paysafecard has ended. Betfair discontinued Paysafecard from 29 June 2026,20 and balances from a method that does not accept withdrawals can be withdrawn by bank transfer from the “Other Methods” tab.21
Contacting Betfair and making a complaint
Betfair names IBAS as its alternative dispute resolution (ADR) provider2728. You can usually go to ADR only after Betfair's own complaints process has finished or 8 weeks have passed.
Our guide to complaining about a delayed payout explains each step. BookiePayout cannot see your account or resolve disputes.
- Fast withdrawal betting sites: stated payout times comparedWhich UK bookmakers state the quickest withdrawals, by method and stage: Pay by Bank, fast card payouts and standard routes for 24 bookmakers, with dated sources.
- Apple Pay betting sites: deposits and withdrawals comparedWhich UK bookmakers accept Apple Pay, which let you withdraw with it, which card the money goes back to, and the card rules and stated times to check.
- Bank transfer betting sites: ordinary transfers and Pay by Bank comparedWhich UK bookmakers take bank transfers and Pay by Bank, their stated withdrawal times and name checks, and why bank withdrawals can take working days.
- PayPal betting sites: withdrawal conditions comparedWhich UK bookmakers accept PayPal for deposits and withdrawals, their stated PayPal withdrawal times, minimums and conditions, and PayPal's own gambling rules.
- Paysafecard betting sites: deposits and withdrawals comparedWhich UK bookmakers take paysafecard, whether winnings go back to a PaysafeCard account or by bank transfer, and the payout limits and fees to check first.
- Skrill betting sites: deposits and withdrawals comparedWhich UK bookmakers take Skrill, which exclude it or have not confirmed it, their stated withdrawal times, and the wallet fees a free withdrawal leaves out.
Sources
Each number links to the page we checked. We keep a dated copy of every source for our records; the operator's live page may have changed since.
- Withdrawal Queries
- Betfair General Terms and Conditions
- TSE Malta LP - Licence summary
- TSE Malta LP - Trading names
- TSE Malta LP - Domain names
- PPB Counterparty Services Limited - Licence summary
- Betfair Casino Limited - Licence summary
- PPB Entertainment Limited - Licence summary
- PPB Games Limited - Licence summary
- TSE Malta LP - Regulatory actions
- Pay by Bank - Useful Information
- PokerStars on Betfair - FAQs
- Deposit Queries
- Fast Funds
- Missing Withdrawals and your Tracing Number
- Mastercard Withdrawals
- How to add a card
- Why can't I withdraw to my chosen payment method?
- PayPal FAQs
- Why can't I use my Paysafecard anymore?
- Other Withdrawal Questions
- Bank Transfer
- Third Party Payment Methods
- How to verify your account
- How do I close my account?
- Other Withdrawal Methods table (published as an image)
- Betfair Support Home Page
- Betfair's Complaints Procedure